You’ll learn his favorite marking gauges, dividers, squares, scribes or awls, marking knives, chisels, back saws for the layout, marking, and cutting of dovetails. I clamp the pin board in place with what will be the back of the case against the fence. Introduction: Why hand cut? After a good few hours of tuition I was hitting home my first hand cut dovetails, straight off the saw. Hand-cut dovetails were of course the fist thing I wanted to learn when I started my woodworking journey and that's what I started studying from the begining. Laying Out Dovetails with Christopher Schwarz. I never touch the side walls of the tails with the chisel either. I do not under-cut the joint either. Dovetail joints can be cut by hand as they have been for thousands of years, but power tools such as a table saw or a router and jig make the job much faster and accessible for total beginners. Third, to chisel out the rest of the waste, place your chisel into the baseline and undercut the joint … Great tool. This help to get a clean crisp slice through the tape. I tend to make all the cuts in the same direction first and then make all the cuts in the other direction. 7. I have to cut a housing dado in each of the side panels for a shelf before I glue things together, so I'll do that now. I cut 4" off then end of each of those pieces and glued them in as the spacers. Putting the joint together dry and then trying to take it back apart involves too much risk of breaking off an edge or a corner. Clamp in place. This method will eliminate them almost all together. The tool features two different ratios of 1:5 for softwoods and 1:8 for hardwoods. Sean Walker here on SimpleCove.com has built a beautiful version of a Moxon Vise. The wood type I am using here is African Padauk. Prime members enjoy FREE Delivery and exclusive access to music, movies, TV shows, original audio series, and Kindle books. It comes set to cut on the pull, which is how I prefer it. If you have any questions or commen